Archdiocesan Shrine of Our Lady of Loreto Parish Chapter

WESTB2C Cluster

Proclamation of Freedom (serving New Bilibid Prison)

Leave a comment

It always feels like first time whenever I set my feet on Bureau of Corrections or New Bilibid Prison (Muntinlupa).  As of date, Prison Ministry has been there for the third time since December and however I consider myself familiar with the situation of the inmates, it only leads me to discover more and more about myself and to learn more of them. I realized that my life is no different from theirs for I also made a couple of wrong turns before, I am also struggling with sins and I have set my own bars of captivity.

Before, I thought of inmates as heartless people, dangerous and stone-faced however everything changed when I finally had an encounter with them through Prison Ministry. They are people with dreams, talents and so much love in their heart who happen to squander their opportunities in the past. Seeing them struggling to change their life testifies the possibility of conversion and forgiveness – all of us can get away with sins.

I thank the Lord for the privilege to witness how His love manifests even to sinners; murderers, kidnappers, thieves and drug dealers / users deserves forgiveness and can change their life. All they need is a society of no condemnation and people who are willing to embrace them despite their painful past. Undoubtedly, the ministry opens our eyes to God’s call of Liberation, singing these lines from one of my favorite song makes more sense now:

He has come, to bring light into the darkness
He has come, to bring freedom to the captives
He has come, to restore the broken hearted
It’s time to proclaim, the year of the Lord

Preparing the way of the Lord is exactly what I feel in serving Prison Ministry. I know that other volunteers who visited NBP will agree if I say that serving these inmates is a Proclamation of God’s victory.  Victory won by God in bringing back His children to light, not only the inmates but liberating all of us from the captivity of our own sins. The experience allows me to appreciate the gift of freedom that God has given and motivates me to use this gift for His greater glory.

The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners. – Isaiah 61:1

God is calling us in this mission of love. Join us and experience the liberating Love of our Father God through Prison Ministry.

Image

Image

Author: majaneolores

IT Recruiter, God's Princess, Servant, Adventurer

Leave a Reply

